Christine Headlights??????

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Christine Headlights??????

Does anybody know how to make the headlights of a car or truck slowly illuminate? Like in the movie "Christine." I always thought that was bad ass and been wanting to do that to one of the cars for a long time. It must be some sort of delay switch or something. I am not an electrician so I don't know what to look for.

Packman

I think you could install a rheostat and make the headlights dim or bright manually. Then again, it'd kind of suck to manually turn your lights on so that they looked like Christine's lights. Perhaps soemthing that slowly allows the voltage to creep up?
    **2012 Ford Mustang Boss 302: 5.0/ 6 spd/ 3.73s, 20K Cruiser
    **2006 MGM,"Ultimate": 4.6/ 2.73/ Dark Tint, Magnaflows, 19s, 115K Daily Driver
    **2012 Harley Davidson Wide Glide (FXDWG):103/ Cobra Speedsters/ Cosmetics, 9K Poseur HD Rider
    **1976 Ford F-150 4WD: 360, 4 spd, 3.50s, factory A/C, 4" lift, Bilsteins, US Indy Mags, 35s Truck Duties

Comment

A large capacitor like from a stereo would prolly fo the trick. Seems to me it slowly light the lights as it filled if you wired correctly.
      1990 Country Squire - weekend cruiser, next project
      1988 Crown Vic LTD Wagon - waiting in the wings

GMN Box Panther History
      Box Panther Horsepower and Torque Ratings
      Box Panther Production Numbers

Comment

The capcitor might work. However, I though they have a rapid discharge. If thats the case, then it'd probably turn the lights on too fast. Also, what happens once the charge stored up is discharged? Would the lights go out then? How long does it take for the capacitor to charge up again?
        **2012 Ford Mustang Boss 302: 5.0/ 6 spd/ 3.73s, 20K Cruiser
        **2006 MGM,"Ultimate": 4.6/ 2.73/ Dark Tint, Magnaflows, 19s, 115K Daily Driver
        **2012 Harley Davidson Wide Glide (FXDWG):103/ Cobra Speedsters/ Cosmetics, 9K Poseur HD Rider