85 CFI to EFI conversion parts list

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

85 CFI to EFI conversion parts list

Since my 85 doesn't seem to be going anywhere right now, I think I'll do an EFI swap on it just for the heck of it. There's some great tech threads on here, but the parts list in them is always kind of vague, and I'm a noob to this pushrod stuff. Right now there's an 89 I can grab parts off of so I want to get as much as possible while I can.
    I know I'll need the engine harness, and the PCM, and I have a few MAFs and sets of injectors laying around that I can use. What else do I need exactly? I can figure out the swap stuff, just need an exact list of what I'll need to have. I might do an HO swap at the same time if I can get the parts, or might save it for a later date.
    1985 2 door LTD 127k miles, Dodge Charger 18" police wheels.
    2003 P71, 100k, 5.4L engine, eaton m112, other stuff.
    Sold: 2003 P71, 2002 P71, 1996 Town Car

no MAF needed. It's still speed density EFI on the boxes (except 90/91 cali only cars - very rare and not actually a desired system). you'll need the entire EFI hardware from the lower intake UP. Of course, vacuum lines and such would be needed to be re-routed. all you would need in addition for the HO conversion is the HO cam and compatible ECM (MAF if using a mass-air ECM and then add/move some wires to the 89 wire harness). The panther EFI intake is equal to an 86 mustang gt, so it's not a real big deal if you can't get 87+ top end or GT40 tubulars for the HO swap. I'd do heads as well if going with the tubulars and then you'd pretty much be required to do the mass-air swap.

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein
    rides: 93 Crown Vic LX (The Red Velvet Cake), 2000 Crown Vic base model (Sandy), 2003 Expedition (the vacation beast)

Originally posted by gadget73
    ... and it should all work like magic and unicorns and stuff.