PotM GrandMarq.NET - Panther Headquarters Forum Index PotM
GMN Chat Room GMN's STORE!! GMN's Gallery Please!!
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 74

Thread: 2000 GM Restore and Build

  1. #41
    Approaching 2 decades of DDing Box Panthers VicCrownVic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Shelby Township, MI
    Posts
    2,987

    Default

    No jacks and jack stands makes things a bit difficult.
    The cross member bolt hits the under side of the car due to shot body mount bushings. I jack the body up with a good side piece of lumber between the jack and the underside of the car. This raises the body enough to get those cross member bolts out. But that puts you back to the no jacks or jack stands dilemma.

    The JYs around here provide A-frame gantries for pulling engines, for the trans you might have to pull both the engine and trans then separate the two once out of the car.
    Vic

    ~ 1991 Mercury Grand Marquis LS "The Scab" - plenty of rot, summer DD
    ~ 1997 GMC Yukon - wannabe winter DD - returning summer 2020, I finally have an engine
    ~ 1991 Mercury Grand Marquis GS "The Ice Car" - My rotting winter DD
    ~ 1989 Mercury Grand Marquis GS - Rotting Retired DD
    Gone but not forgotten:
    ~ 1988 Country Squire ~ 1987 Ford Crown Vic


  2. #42
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    47

    Default

    Oh my gosh... Thank you for the reply but oh man Maybe take a huge crow bar and bend the cross member down to get the bolt out.

    The passenger floor board had water in it after I found and fixed the trunk leak. Traced it back to the windshield. Having Safelite come reseal the windshield under warranty tomorrow. Hopefully that fixes it.

    Just got off the phone with Chris from ADTR and ordered my 4.10's!! He was incredibly helpful and amazing.
    Last edited by Charlie Mercury; 01-06-2020 at 03:32 PM.

  3. #43
    Approaching 2 decades of DDing Box Panthers VicCrownVic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Shelby Township, MI
    Posts
    2,987

    Default

    Or if putting a hole in the floor of the JY car above the bolt is ok, that could be an option.

    Yuck, windshield leaks are no good. Water gets into places it shouldn't, then around here it freezes and cracks the windshield (ask me how I know).
    Vic

    ~ 1991 Mercury Grand Marquis LS "The Scab" - plenty of rot, summer DD
    ~ 1997 GMC Yukon - wannabe winter DD - returning summer 2020, I finally have an engine
    ~ 1991 Mercury Grand Marquis GS "The Ice Car" - My rotting winter DD
    ~ 1989 Mercury Grand Marquis GS - Rotting Retired DD
    Gone but not forgotten:
    ~ 1988 Country Squire ~ 1987 Ford Crown Vic


  4. #44
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    47

    Default

    ohhh yeah. You have good ideas. I think stabbing the floor would be easier for sure. Good call.

    Wow that sucks..definitely do not have to worry about anything freezing down here thank goodness.

  5. #45
    The Brown Blob 87gtVIC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Whitestone, NY
    Posts
    18,848

    Default

    Yard wont assist?


    Yards I frequent will help you out by lifting car and some even come around with the "hot wrench" if needed.
    ~David~

    My 1987 Crown Victoria Coupe: The Brown Blob
    My 2004 Mercedes Benz E320:The Benz

    Quote Originally Posted by DerekTheGreat View Post
    But, that's just coming from me, this site's biggest pessimist. Best of luck

  6. #46
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    47

    Default

    Safelite came out and did their thing. The top corner of the A-pillar was leaking. Running down to the kick panel and flooding the floor. Trunk and windshield is now sealed!!

    Going to finish pulling the trans tomorrow. (assuming no one has beat me to it in the last two days). All that's left is getting that cross-member bolt out, unbolting the torque converter and removing the starter. Picked up an orange strip 2010 CVPI draft shaft while I was there Sunday.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	windshield seal.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	174.3 KB 
ID:	53341

  7. #47
    I post a lot...
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    North Las Vegas Nevada
    Posts
    2,318

    Default

    I had to pull out a transmission from a GM Box van oh what a pain in the ass that job was, I had to replace the Flywheel and Starter on that job and that was on the ground, luckly I had the benefit of a little dich and a tire jack and muscle to get the job done.

  8. #48
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    47

    Default

    Yeah, that sounds gross. I ended up running two ratchet straps under as a girdle, basket thing and pulled on it so it rested on them. then lowered it onto a long board and slid it out. Was decently rough. Not terrible. Had to bash the cross member bolt out with a crow bar and a dead blow hammer. Started making progress getting the new trans in last night but ran into a snag but had one of the techs at work help me out this morning with a few minutes of an air hammer chisel so I will finish it tonight. Also picked up a nice H-pipe from a CVPI. It is in better condition than my exhaust so it was a nice find.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ready.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	197.3 KB 
ID:	53357 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	before.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	95.7 KB 
ID:	53358 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	trans exhaust.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	156.6 KB 
ID:	53359 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	stuck.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	86.2 KB 
ID:	53360 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	nipple out.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	46.6 KB 
ID:	53361

  9. #49
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    47

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Mercury View Post
    Thanks Ryan!

    Bought: 80mm MAF, Marauder Zip Tube and air box, new window motor regulators, P.I. heads.

    Installed: P.I. Intake no tune

    Still to come: 4.11 gears with spool, aluminum draft shaft, J-mod, 75mm throttle body, ported plenum, fuel pump, cams, injectors, 75-100 shot and tune from Marty.

    https://lmr.com/item/LRS-4209FRH-K/m...BoC0bgQAvD_BwE

    I know Yukon is a good brand and I know we have a 8.8 like mustangs so seems like it would work.
    Update to this post: 4.10 gears, spool, ford bearing/master install kit, 78mm BBK Throttle Intake, used 4r70w, aluminum drive shaft, Drive shaft spacer, H-Pipe, 80mm mass air, MM zip tube, P.I. Intake, Aeromotive Fuel Pump all ordered, installed or awaiting install.

  10. #50
    The Brown Blob 87gtVIC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Whitestone, NY
    Posts
    18,848

    Default

    Was that a dowel stuck on the new transmission?
    ~David~

    My 1987 Crown Victoria Coupe: The Brown Blob
    My 2004 Mercedes Benz E320:The Benz

    Quote Originally Posted by DerekTheGreat View Post
    But, that's just coming from me, this site's biggest pessimist. Best of luck

  11. #51
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    47

    Default

    Yes sir. It sure was.

  12. #52
    Approaching 2 decades of DDing Box Panthers VicCrownVic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Shelby Township, MI
    Posts
    2,987

    Default

    Nice, I like the ratchet strap idea. I've never had to pull a trans at the JY but I'll keep that in mind in case I ever decide to pull one.
    Vic

    ~ 1991 Mercury Grand Marquis LS "The Scab" - plenty of rot, summer DD
    ~ 1997 GMC Yukon - wannabe winter DD - returning summer 2020, I finally have an engine
    ~ 1991 Mercury Grand Marquis GS "The Ice Car" - My rotting winter DD
    ~ 1989 Mercury Grand Marquis GS - Rotting Retired DD
    Gone but not forgotten:
    ~ 1988 Country Squire ~ 1987 Ford Crown Vic


  13. #53
    Vinyl Cheese, Meat Pasty SVT98t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Upstate, NY
    Posts
    5,143

    Default

    (I usually pull the jacks from other vehicles and use that)
    Or pay the yard $60 to cut it out. #win

    You are also going to need the larger output shaft housing for the drive shaft. The aluminum d/s wont fit on the civilian models without the larger, shorter driveshaft output shaft housing.
    I swear I have pics of the difference somewhere...

    And that 78mm tb might be a smidge too large for a N/A car.


    -Ryan s.

    Sent from my SM-J727P using Tapatalk
    08 Lincoln Navigator L - 183k
    03 Mercury Marauder- 61k
    97 Ford Crown Victoria HPP "Tank of Justice III" (TOJ3) - 193k -->578.9 miles on ONE tank of gas<--
    73 VW Super Beetle "Bunky" <----- Wifey's
    Quote Originally Posted by pantera77 View Post
    Well my buddy tells him he knows exactly who loves buying shitboxes.

  14. #54
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    47

    Default

    ADTR said I am good on the housing as long as i get the Fabtec spacer and hybrid u-joint. we will see. The car is being built for nitrous so yeah it wont run the best on motor with that 78.

    But on a different note, I need some assistance or guidance please. Installed the used trans last night and I either bought a bad used trans or I dont know what I am doing. Every gear is neutral. The motor "bogs down" as if it went into gear but nothing. Did I miss something? I have never installed a transmission but thought it was just plug and play. Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!

  15. #55
    Beater gonna beat sly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lewisville, TX
    Posts
    21,357

    Default

    Bad torque converter maybe. Bad trans maybe. Did you add all the fluid? Should be somewhere around 14 quarts. All the electrical connected?

    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein
    rides: 93 Crown Vic LX (The Red Velvet Cake), 2000 Crown Vic base model (Sandy), 2003 Expedition (the vacation beast)
    Quote Originally Posted by gadget73
    ... and it should all work like magic and unicorns and stuff.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmccaig
    Overhead, some poor bastards are flying in airplanes.

  16. #56
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    47

    Default

    Definitely has fluid. I think i over filled it actually. I feel like I looked the electrical over pretty good. I just don't know If I didn't align something or whats going on. It bolted to the engine good. The last like 3/8 of an inch I had to tighten the trans bolts and "pull" it against engine(if that makes sense) and the torque converter aligned and bolted to the fly wheel fine. The magnet and fluid looked really good in the you-pull-it yard. Just so much work to have a bad trans. Guess that's the risk you take in paying $99 for a transmission. Just wish there was a way to figure out if it was me or the transmission.

  17. #57
    The Brown Blob 87gtVIC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Whitestone, NY
    Posts
    18,848

    Default

    There are three things grooves or settings the torque converter needs to matchup to on the transmission. It is not just a bolt on deal. The torque converter needs to be spun into the transmission and feel it go into all of its slots.
    ~David~

    My 1987 Crown Victoria Coupe: The Brown Blob
    My 2004 Mercedes Benz E320:The Benz

    Quote Originally Posted by DerekTheGreat View Post
    But, that's just coming from me, this site's biggest pessimist. Best of luck

  18. #58
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    47

    Default

    the converter would not bolt to the flywheel if it was not in all the grooves correct?

  19. #59
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    47

    Default

    I am starting to think someone did a transmission flush or service because the pump was bad. which would explain why the car had such clean fluid but is bad. maybe??

  20. #60
    The Brown Blob 87gtVIC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Whitestone, NY
    Posts
    18,848

    Default

    Well. It depends. The torque converter can bolt to the flexplate independent of the tranny. It just makes things all but impossible to ensure that the converter is proponent seated in the transmission.


    Usual way of doing this is by installing torque converter into transmission and then as a unit I to car.


    I just raised this question because you said you drawn the tranny the rest of the way in by the bolts.
    ~David~

    My 1987 Crown Victoria Coupe: The Brown Blob
    My 2004 Mercedes Benz E320:The Benz

    Quote Originally Posted by DerekTheGreat View Post
    But, that's just coming from me, this site's biggest pessimist. Best of luck

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
GMN Approved Links!


www.rockauto.com www.adtr.net