PotM GrandMarq.NET - Panther Headquarters Forum Index PotM
GMN Chat Room GMN's STORE!! GMN's Gallery Please!!
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Computer questions

  1. #1

    Default Computer questions

    Would a computer from a Ď99 CVPI work plug and play in an Ď03 grand marquis? Assuming that I take the 140mph cluster also? I have a 120mph cluster but have changed my rear end from a 2.72 open to a 3.55 lsd and my current speedo is fast by 16% and predator says they donít make a tuner for anything older than the 05 grand marquis so I canít just get a tuner and mess with it myself.

    The cars are functionally the same as far as I can tell. I donít know about the harness but all the same things are in all the same places.

  2. #2
    Road Warrior Kodachrome Wolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Evans, GA
    Posts
    1,568

    Default

    Short answer is no. There’s a lot that changed between those model years.

    My Cars:
    -1987 Grand Marquis Colony Park LS (325K Miles) - April 2017 + September 2019 POTM Winner
    -1989 Sable LS Wagon (88,710 Miles) - Sold
    -1997 Grand Marquis LS (210K Miles) - The Daily Workhorse & March 2015 + January 2019 POTM Winner

  3. #3
    I'm an air-conditioned gypsy gadget73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    38,775

    Default

    Tuners exist for older than 05. I know multiple people personally who have cars in that range who have fixed their speedometers with available OBD2 plug-in tuners. Unfortunately I don't know what brand but they're out there. Check with the Marauder guys. Those are all 03-04. Not the same ECM but they might have a brand for you.

    86 Lincoln Town Car (Galactica).
    5.0 HO, CompCams XE258,Scorpion 1.72 roller rockers, 3.55 K code rear, tow package, BHPerformance ported E7 heads, Tmoss Explorer intake, 65mm throttle body, Hedman 1 5/8" headers, 2.5" dual exhaust, ASP underdrive pulley

    91 Lincoln Mark VII LSC SE, triple black (Timewarp) - poly front bushings, KYB struts and shocks, Holley SystemMax1 lower intake, SilverFox AOD valve body,

    1984 Lincoln Continental TurboDiesel - rolls coal

    Quote Originally Posted by phayzer5 View Post
    I drive a Lincoln. I can't be bothered to shift like the peasants and rabble rousers

  4. #4
    2 decades of DDing Box Panthers, now in a Whale VicCrownVic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Shelby Township, MI
    Posts
    3,039

    Default

    The cluster does not matter, both the 120 and 140 versions read the same speed sensor output and will read the same.

    Not sure about plug and play for the '99 ARA3 PCM into the '03 car. Although, I believe if the particular ARA3 PCM you have/obtain was from a car with 3.55 from the factory then the PCM is all you need.

    Edit: nevermind, it looks like not plug and play, see the other posts.
    Last edited by VicCrownVic; 02-16-2020 at 06:17 PM.
    Vic

    ~ 1998 Mercury Grand Marquis LS - new DD
    ~ 1991 Mercury Grand Marquis LS "The Scab" - plenty of rot, summer DD
    ~ 1997 GMC Yukon - wannabe winter DD - returning summer 2020, I finally have an engine
    ~ 1991 Mercury Grand Marquis GS "The Ice Car" - My rotting winter DD
    ~ 1989 Mercury Grand Marquis GS - Rotting Retired DD
    Gone but not forgotten:
    ~ 1988 Country Squire ~ 1987 Ford Crown Vic

  5. #5
    Hobbit
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,299

    Default

    PCM will not work.

    Talk to Marty and get a tune.

    http://www.mosspeedshop.com/forum/

  6. #6
    Beater gonna beat sly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lewisville, TX
    Posts
    21,432

    Default

    http://www.grandmarq.net/oldfuelinjection/page88.html

    The PCM will plug in... It will try to work, but it will report tons of errors. The transmission has a different ring gear with 24 teeth instead of 6 holes for the output shaft sensor to read. This will end up confusing the PCM and making it run in limp-home mode and may lock the transmission into 2nd or 3rd gear (can't remember what the worst limp home mode is). The engine is also a little different and uses a different MAF sensor along with different injectors and the engine may not even run for that matter. Tuning the currently installed PCM is a much easier option and can be done with SCT, HP Tuners, or Core Tuning setups. Marty at Mo's speed shop is definitely a safe bet.

    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein
    rides: 93 Crown Vic LX (The Red Velvet Cake), 2000 Crown Vic base model (Sandy), 2003 Expedition (the vacation beast)
    Quote Originally Posted by gadget73
    ... and it should all work like magic and unicorns and stuff.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmccaig
    Overhead, some poor bastards are flying in airplanes.

  7. #7
    Fastest Box In South Jersey 86VickyLX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Westmont, New Jersey
    Posts
    10,349

    Default

    No. The ecm will not work. The way the fuel pump is controlled is completely different. 03 introduced the fuel pump driver module. 99 still used a fuel pump relay. There are differences in how the transmission is (inputs and outputs). Amongst other things.

  8. #8
    Beater gonna beat sly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lewisville, TX
    Posts
    21,432

    Default

    Hence reporting tons of errors. I forgot about the fuel system change though.

    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein
    rides: 93 Crown Vic LX (The Red Velvet Cake), 2000 Crown Vic base model (Sandy), 2003 Expedition (the vacation beast)
    Quote Originally Posted by gadget73
    ... and it should all work like magic and unicorns and stuff.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmccaig
    Overhead, some poor bastards are flying in airplanes.

  9. #9
    I'm an air-conditioned gypsy gadget73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    38,775

    Default

    isn't there a PATS thing somewhere in the mix as well?

    86 Lincoln Town Car (Galactica).
    5.0 HO, CompCams XE258,Scorpion 1.72 roller rockers, 3.55 K code rear, tow package, BHPerformance ported E7 heads, Tmoss Explorer intake, 65mm throttle body, Hedman 1 5/8" headers, 2.5" dual exhaust, ASP underdrive pulley

    91 Lincoln Mark VII LSC SE, triple black (Timewarp) - poly front bushings, KYB struts and shocks, Holley SystemMax1 lower intake, SilverFox AOD valve body,

    1984 Lincoln Continental TurboDiesel - rolls coal

    Quote Originally Posted by phayzer5 View Post
    I drive a Lincoln. I can't be bothered to shift like the peasants and rabble rousers

  10. #10
    Beater gonna beat sly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lewisville, TX
    Posts
    21,432

    Default

    CVPI PCM ignores the PATS. So if one was to get it tuned to work with the car, it would lose the PATS function.

    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein
    rides: 93 Crown Vic LX (The Red Velvet Cake), 2000 Crown Vic base model (Sandy), 2003 Expedition (the vacation beast)
    Quote Originally Posted by gadget73
    ... and it should all work like magic and unicorns and stuff.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmccaig
    Overhead, some poor bastards are flying in airplanes.

  11. #11
    Fastest Box In South Jersey 86VickyLX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Westmont, New Jersey
    Posts
    10,349

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sly View Post
    CVPI PCM ignores the PATS. So if one was to get it tuned to work with the car, it would lose the PATS function.
    However, I think you can enable PATS with a tuner. You can disable it on other ecms if I'm not mistaken.

  12. #12
    Beater gonna beat sly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lewisville, TX
    Posts
    21,432

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 86VickyLX View Post
    However, I think you can enable PATS with a tuner. You can disable it on other ecms if I'm not mistaken.
    Yes, I can confirm this with my current cars.

    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein
    rides: 93 Crown Vic LX (The Red Velvet Cake), 2000 Crown Vic base model (Sandy), 2003 Expedition (the vacation beast)
    Quote Originally Posted by gadget73
    ... and it should all work like magic and unicorns and stuff.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmccaig
    Overhead, some poor bastards are flying in airplanes.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
GMN Approved Links!


www.rockauto.com www.adtr.net