Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New Guy From Labrador

Hi everyone,

My name is Randy, i'm not a Ford fan at heart but i joined because i received an 86 Mercury Grand Marquis for free the other day.

I helped a friend pull it out of the woods close to my shop and once it was out he asked me if i wanted it LOL.

I say i'm not a Ford fan but it's mostly because i haven't seen alot of vehicles of theirs that i enjoyed.

I've always liked 70's era F-150's/Bronco's, first gen and early fox body Mustangs, GT40's and of course, the Crown Vic/GM/Town Car's. I've been a big fan of cop issue vehicles my entire life, i've owned one of them and it was my first car.

I might catch some flaming for this but my first car was an 88 Caprice 9C1 (had a 305 in it due to PO blowing the 350). I loved that car, but it was more to do with RWD, V8, full size body on frame cars than anything.

So i'm not here to bash or cause trouble, just wanna learn about this free car that i hope i can keep running and make it into a beautiful example of a once proud class of cars...the full size RWD american road beast.

(sorry no pics they will be coming soon)

My plan is to maybe lower it a bit (keeping the rake though), make it handle great yet still retain the smoothness, get the motor freshened up and running hard, etc.

Generally i want this to run well enough to put newer cars to shame. It's gonna be my cruiser/DD so that i can finally build my trucks into specialized beasts of their own

welcome, b'ye. there are a couple other maritimers on here as well.

nothing wrong with a free car. is it efi? how's the rust?

what kinda trucks are you building into beasts?
    sigpic

- 1990 Ford LTD Crown Victoria P72 - the street boat - 5.0 liter EFI - Ported HO intake/TB, 90 TC shroud/overflow, Aero airbox/zip tube, Cobra camshaft, 19lb injectors, dual exhaust w/ Magnaflows, Cat/Smog & AC delete, 3G alternator, MOOG chassis parts & KYB cop shocks, 215/70r/15s on 95-97 Merc rims