Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

newbie needs alittle help....

good morning,
    this is officially my first of many post to come...
    After searching and reading some of the post and such..I've come to see that there is a lot of knowledgable individuals on this site and i would like to say thank you in advance for any help, options or suggestions, that anyone may give me..
    I have some knowledge to offer, mainly about Lincoln Mark VII's..which over the years i have had 12 of them...and if I can help I will..

2 days ago i snapped the T-5 in my 1990 Mark VII...Unfortunitly im not in a position to purchase or rebuild another one and so...this is how I have aqquired a 1992 Grand Marquis GS with 22,000 original miles for 600.00 and a six pack.
    I have known several people/friends who have owned these cars , but i never even driven one before..My new (to me) Marq had been sitting for 4yrs..and after doing all the necessary things one would do to a car sitting so long..I Hammered the starter and she came to life....
    Everything was good up until the moment I tried to back it out of the gated fence...The stupid idiot who installed the fence built it around the car with not enough room for me to get it out...So Just Like any other aggrivated car nut would have done , i cut down the fence with a chainsaw. .After the car was out and the fence re-installed, that was when i noticed the only issue with my new car..
    The rear brake line going from the driverside to the pass..side, in between the fuel tank and the trunk, must have dryrotted and split.. I cant see the split but it pours out when the brake is applied..the line ,from what i can see is rubber.

Now the Questions, Are there any fittings in between the cross over ? ..Does anyone have a diagram of the brake system ? ( it is non-ABS ). Can i cut the brakeline on both sides, install a new line, reconnect and bleed ?

thanks, have a good day