Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

90 Temp Lever Nonfunctional

I am a noob to the problems of the 90+.

I've heard the HVAC controls give problems. In examining the 90, the temp level is stuck toward the cool side, and won't slide past halfway to the warm. This is something that can be fixed or do I need to pray I find a good used one?

Also, the lever that controls position settings is okay but I hear nothing moving (car running).

Finally the fan is not working on any speed/any position setting. It is getting 12v. Blower resistor problems I've had in the past, I still had high.

This is not an ATC car.
    1990 Country Squire - weekend cruiser, next project
    1988 Crown Vic LTD Wagon - waiting in the wings

GMN Box Panther History
    Box Panther Horsepower and Torque Ratings
    Box Panther Production Numbers

The usual issue with the 90-94 MGM/CV HVAC controls is levers that feel sloppy. Mr Bean fixed them on his '91 P72.

In your case it could be a piece of the spacer broke and is jamming up the works. Just a different symptom of the same problem.

The only unit I have ever taken apart, enough to get at those spacers, I wasn't concerned with putting back together. If you can find a unit at the JY to practice removing the face on I would recommend it.
    Vic

~ 1989 MGM LS Colony Park - Large Marge
    ~ 1998 MGM LS - new DD
    ~ 1991 MGM LS "The Scab"
    ~ 1991 MGM GS "The Ice Car"

Comment

Thanks for the link. There is a fresh well used 92 in the local u pick that I could "practice" on. So it's the spacer right behind the visible part that could be the issue.

GMN Box Panther History

Comment