Small Distributor Cap Mod.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Small Distributor Cap Mod.

I've been doing small block ford stuff for almost 25 years, and I was today years old when I learned of this hack.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mQ8zjOdz1rE

This is GREAT information!
    What I Own: 1993 Mercury Grand Marquis GS
    What I Help Maintain: 1996 CV / 1988 CV / 1988 Tempo

Comment

to ask the obvious question, why? The big cap was to allow increased spacing between towers to reduce risk of cross-firing.
      86 Lincoln Town Car (Galactica).
      5.0 HO, CompCams XE258,Scorpion 1.72 roller rockers, 3.55 K code rear, tow package, BHPerformance ported E7 heads, Tmoss Explorer intake, 65mm throttle body, Hedman 1 5/8" headers, 2.5" dual exhaust, ASP underdrive pulley

91 Lincoln Mark VII LSC grandpa spec white and cranberry

1984 Lincoln Continental TurboDiesel - rolls coal

Originally posted by phayzer5
      I drive a Lincoln. I can't be bothered to shift like the peasants and rabble rousers

Comment

It's important to note that despite cosmetic similarities, this almost certainly cannot be done with the TFI distributor because the cap adapter bolts on, rather than being held on with clips that could then also hold the cap on. Now, perhaps there is yet another application of cap that bolts on and would work in the case of the TFI unit.

And while DS does exist in Panthers (I own a car so-equipped), the majority of them that remain are probably TFI cars.

But also +1 on gadget's remark because my understanding was the wide spread on the cap was not without reason.

Current driver: wagon
        Panthers: 83 GM 2dr | 84 TC | 85 CS
        | 88 TC | 91 GM
        Not Panthers: 85 Ranger | Ranger trailer | 91 Acclaim | 05 Focus
        Gone: 97 CV | 83 TC | 04 Focus | 86 GM
        | Junkyards

Comment