Michelin Tires:-(

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Michelin Tires:-(

So for the second time I tossed all four Michelin tires on my '86 MGM Tudor. This time they had just about 7500 miles on them over ten years, yea I know the car is not used much. Never again, the side walls were dry rotted, one tire actually had rubber sticking out that I was about to pull off with my fingers. I had my bud order 4 new off brand "house" tires from his distributor, I forget the name, but the four tires with mounting and balancing cost me $400.00............I made sure the guy mounting them used plenty of bead sealer, the turbine wheels leak around the bead. Hope he listened, did not want to stand over him while he worked. I think the name of the tire was something like West Lake.

I think these are Chinese tires marketed through Russia and then, Canada. No comment on quality as I have no experience with them.
    What I Own: 1993 Mercury Grand Marquis GS
    What I Help Maintain: 1996 CV / 1988 CV / 1988 Tempo

Comment

I've heard similar things about other recent Michelin tires. They don't seem to age well.

West Lake is indeed a brand that is found often in Canada (and does appear to be a brand based here) which is distributing Chinese-made tires, probably produced by the same factories making several other "house brand" tires for distributors across North America. For what it's worth, I've heard they're decent for being a cheap tire, and they were on my short list when looking for a set of tires before I decided to go raised white lettering for the wagon. No word on longevity of course, but at 400USD mounted for a set, you're doing great if they even make it as long as those Michelins did.

A note on house brand tires: Motomaster is a store brand of Canadian Tire, and it seems like their tires are on every 5th car out on the road. My limited anecdotal experience is they seem to age well. They're almost certainly also being sold in the US under a different name.